Media Centre: News


Archant chief becomes Newspaper Society president

Posted on

Adrian Jeakings, chief executive of Archant, became president of the Newspaper Society on July 1.

He succeeds Geraldine Allinson, chairman of the Kent Messenger Group, in the role.

Adrian said: “I would like to thank Geraldine for all the excellent work she has done to promote the important work of local newspapers across the UK.

“The NS plays an invaluable role in promoting the unique strengths and qualities of our industry, through initiatives such as the immensely successful Local Business Accelerators campaign, and I look forward to continuing this good work over the coming year.”

The Newspaper Society represents and promotes the interests of Britain's regional and local media. It was founded in 1836 and is believed to be the oldest publishers' association in the world. The sector is focused on providing local news and information across its 1,100 daily and weekly, paid-for and free newspaper titles, and 1,600 websites.

According to its mission statement, the NS is: “The voice of Britain's regional and local media. It exists to promote newspapers' interests in all political, legal and regulatory matters and to promote their strengths as news and marketing media.”

Adrian joined the Archant board as finance director in October 2002 and became chief executive in November 2008. He is a fellow of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants and was group finance director of The Stationery Office before joining Archant.

Adrian was previously treasurer and vice-president of the Newspaper Society.

Adrian is a director of the PA Group Limited and sits on the board of the NS. He is a governor of Norwich School and a member of the audit committee of the University of East Anglia.

Adrian joins a list of distinguished NS presidents from Archant and its forebears. Geoffrey Copeman, from ECNG, was president in 1995-96, WM Young from the Eastern Daily Press held the office in 1974-75 and A Cozens-Hardy, from the EDP was president in 1915-16.

A new NS president is elected from the membership every year in July.

© Archant Ltd 2013